Activities Board at Columbia

Tue, Apr 8, 2014, 9:55pm

The first online elections will be held after ABC’s town hall next Thursday, April 27, and will be the second year in which candidates must apply directly for the section of groups they want to represent.

Mon, Feb 10, 2014, 3:57am

The Activities Board at Columbia wants to create a communal equipment rental program that aims to drive down technical costs and improve equipment quality for student groups.

Sun, Dec 1, 2013, 8:36pm

The process for student groups to reserve space is getting easier, Activities Board at Columbia leaders announced at the board’s annual town hall last week.

Tue, Oct 8, 2013, 11:58pm

Columbia engineering students are campaigning to start an undergraduate chapter of the national American Indian Science and Engineering Society, an organization geared toward promoting the science and engineering fields.

Tue, Sep 24, 2013, 2:28am

Two multicultural student groups are on track to revive themselves after facing the threat of derecognition last semester.

Wed, Apr 10, 2013, 7:51pm

The biggest changes include a transition to a direct democracy, a discretionary budget for representatives, and an improved relationship with Barnard Student Government Association's and the newly introduced Governing Board at Barnard.

Thu, Mar 28, 2013, 8:27pm

The new leaders of ABC—the governing board that oversees cultural, performing arts, preprofessional, publication, and special interest groups on campus—say the board is at a pivotal stage going forward.

Fri, Feb 8, 2013, 5:13am

The Activities Board at Columbia is starting a website on which student publications can post their issues in an effort to gain readers and save paper.

Thu, Dec 6, 2012, 6:05am

To give it time to reconsider its policies and procedures, the Activities Board at Columbia will not recognize any new groups next semester.

Wed, Nov 28, 2012, 4:36am

ABC president Saketh Kalathur, CC ’13, would like to revamp the precalendaring process, which he said can be inefficient because a group’s specialized space needs are not taken into consideration.

Pages