sustainability

Sun, Apr 13, 2014, 10:14pm

River Hall, which reduced its electricity usage by 17.1 percent over the past two weeks, won this year’s challenge, while Furnald Hall increased its energy consumption by 16.9 percent—the worst result among the 14 participating Columbia dorms.

Thu, Apr 3, 2014, 4:13am

Sammy Roth investigates Columbia’s sustainability efforts and examines how we measure up to other universities.

Thu, Mar 27, 2014, 2:24am

A team of Columbia graduate students designed a winning case solution in the Department of Energy’s third annual Better Buildings Case Challenge last week.

Tue, Mar 4, 2014, 1:45am

The Engineering Student Council passed an initiative Monday night to make research labs more environmentally conscious.

Tue, Feb 11, 2014, 2:14am

Radiator Labs—a Columbia Technology Ventures startup by SEAS alumnus Marshall Cox—is planning to launch an app next year that will allow students to access heaters in their rooms to regulate the temperature.

Fri, May 3, 2013, 4:14am

This weekend, catch the end of the New Museum's second Ideas City, a biennial festival which marries the arts and sciences for urban improvement.

Thu, Feb 21, 2013, 12:38am

Barnard students and administrators have begun to determine how to implement the senior class gift, which will fund a sustainability initiative.

Tue, Nov 13, 2012, 1:22am

Richard Sun, CC ’13, is leading the initiative to put together a senate committee of professors, administrators, and students who will work to create a more sustainable campus.

Sun, Sep 16, 2012, 7:11pm

We need to look more critically at ways to foster a "green" community.

Mon, Apr 9, 2012, 1:34am

In partnership with other New York colleges, campus sustainability groups are looking to provide New Yorkers with a database of eco-friendly and ethical neighborhood shops.

Pages