upper west side

Thu, Apr 10, 2014, 12:56am

The intersection at 96th Street and Broadway is officially going under the knife.

Fri, Apr 4, 2014, 10:06pm

College of Dental Medicine student Jiwon Lee was reported missing Wednesday night. Lee is described as a 29-year-old female, 5-foot-2, 120-pounds, with black hair and black eyes, and was last seen near her residence at 220 West 98th St. at 8:30 p.m. on April 1.

Mon, Feb 3, 2014, 7:45pm

The changes proposed to the intersection of Broadway and 96th Street answer a longtime call for better street safety.

Mon, Jan 27, 2014, 1:49am

Better signage and longer pedestrian signals have been implemented at the 97th Street and West End Avenue intersection after District 6 City Council member Helen Rosental met with Department of Transportation officials.

Sun, Jan 12, 2014, 1:24pm

After an elderly man and a nine-year-old were killed on the Upper West Side Friday night, local leaders are pushing for additional safety measures at intersections.

Tue, Dec 3, 2013, 2:37am

The community center’s rent has been raised $10,000 and are rallying community support.

Tue, Aug 27, 2013, 7:53pm

The neighborhoods surrounding Columbia—the four neighborhoods Spectator covers—are home to their own rich histories, diverse residents, and local controversies.

Wed, Jan 30, 2013, 2:46am

Former and current residents of the Frederick Douglass Houses celebrated the housing complex's legacy and called on the New York City Housing Authority to restore the houses to their heyday.

Tue, Dec 4, 2012, 1:41am

For a different sort of culinary experience, head to Baconery, where the salty flavors of bacon are melded with sweeter toppings.

Fri, Oct 5, 2012, 5:41am

This week, Weekend checks out the top spots in our own backyard.

Pages