Article Image
Ha Quoc Huy / Columbia Daily Spectator

Just 10 percent of each graduating class is selected for Phi Beta Kappa.

Columbia College announced its 22 Junior Phi Beta Kappa recipients. The remaining eight percent of Phi Beta Kappa recipients from the class of 2021 will be announced in the spring.

Phi Beta Kappa is one of the most prestigious academic honor societies, which requires students to not only be at the top of their class academically but also to be leaders inside and outside of the classroom. Faculty recommendations are also a factor in the selection process.

The names and majors of the fall 2020 inductees can be found below:

Canfer Akbulut (Psychology)

Leopold Aschenbrenner (Mathematics)

Collin Burns (Computer science)

Aroosa Cheema (Political science)

Simon Cohen (Music)

Naomi Cruz (Psychology)

Mariya Delyakova (Mathematics)

Sophia DiIorio (Biological sciences)

Andrew Elzayn (Computer science)

Monika Francsics (Computer science)

Jonathan Hirschfeld (Economics)

Alexander Horn (Creative writing)

Jenny Jin (Biological sciences)

Christine Kim (Biological sciences)

Zhi Lin (Biological sciences)

Joel Meyers (Theater and astrophysics)

Sofia Montrone (Creative writing)

Abhishek Shah (Biological sciences)

Coleman Sherry (History)

Ahmed Sheta (Physics)

William Tong (Computer science)

Robert Watson (English and comparative literature)

Columbia Phi Beta Kappa Junior Phi Beta Kappa Phi Beta Kappa
Related Stories